Introduction

Alfred Brogyanyi, Akademie der bildenden KünsteFoto: Clemens Fabry
Alfred Brogyanyi, Akademie der bildenden Künste Foto: Clemens Fabry

Hello there!

I am an art student from Central Saint Martins in London and I’ve chosen to spend 4 months in Vienna, Austria. I will be studying at the Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien which is famously known as the art school that rejected Hitler twice! (If you look at the picture above, you will see what the main building looks like).

One of the things I want to do while I’m here besides learning German (for the first time) and sampling all of the incredibly delicious looking pastries, is to write a blog about my experience. Before I came across from London I was a little bit unsure about what to expect. Hopefully this blog can help others who are heading on Erasmus or travelling to Vienna for the first time.

To start with I should probably explain a few things about myself so that you know what kind of content I will be posting up on here. Firstly, I am a huge foodie and tea-drinker so I will try my best to review the cafés, restaurants and beislns I visit. I might also post up some recipes of any really good Austrian specialties I encounter! Secondly, I am a fine art student and I mainly hit the tourist sites that are related to the arts, history and theatre. I should also warn you that my taste in art is kind of explicit and very feminist — but not 100% of the time! … And finally, I love to travel! Which is probably obvious from the fact that I’ve chosen to live abroad for 4 months, but just to clarify, I really want to see as much of Austria and any surrounding countries while I’m here as possible. I’ll review/journal/ramble about these trips as well as they’re all part of the Erasmus experience.

I hope you enjoy reading!

Leave a Reply

