Kunsthistorisches Museum

In my room I have a small TV that’s tuned into Austrian channels. Since the internet has not connected to my laptop yet, my only option is to watch TV shows that I can’t understand. But I’m hoping that this will help me to learn German faster! I’ve found  watching the kids programmes the easiest to understand. Although Dora the Explorer was a little confusing…

My mum left early in the morning, catching the underground to Landstraße and the CAT train back to the airport. I decided for my first solo day of sightseeing to try the Kunsthistorisches (Art History) Museum which is located opposite the Natural History Museum. The identical buildings face each other over Maria-Theresien-Platz which is also positioned between the MuseumsQuartier and the Hofburg Palace (seen at a distance). The square is a hotspot for tourists taking photographs of the stunning architecture and the large statue of Maria Theresien.

screen-shot-2017-03-01-at-10-45-25

Inside the Museum

Entrance to the museum cost €11 at a student discount and the audioguide was free. I really want to make it clear that this museum is worth visiting even if you’re not interested in art history! The interiors are exquisite and unlike anything I have ever seen before! The entrance room, staircase and “cupola hall” are incredibly ornate with murals from big names such as Klimt. You can also have a rest in the cafe area that sits beneath a richly decorated dome ceiling. One of the highlights of the interior architecture is a circular hole that can be seen in the ceiling of the entrance hall, leading up to the centre of the cafe, which can then be viewed from above from balconies on the 2nd floor.

screen-shot-2017-03-01-at-10-45-42screen-shot-2017-03-01-at-10-45-55

The galleries contain a vast collection of classical artworks and objects as well as an exhibition on ancient Egypt with encased mummies. It was impossible to be bored while exploring this place, I was almost overwhelmed by the combination of looking at the artworks and the beauty of the rooms themselves. In total I spent a good 3-4 hours walking around all three floors.

screen-shot-2017-03-01-at-10-46-10

(If you look at the picture above you can see the wall mural painted by Klimt in-between the two central stone columns. Going down the stairs leads to the main entrance and up the stairs you can just see the cafe.)

Leave a Reply

